The building now accommodates: Far Eastern Art Museum
Address: Khabarovsk Territory, Khabarovsk, 7 Shevchenko Street
Date of construction: 1882-1884, 1896, 1914-1916, 1928, 1938, 1947
Khabarovsk Territory Executive Committee decision No. 171 dd. 18.07.1991, Presidential Decree No. 176 dd. 20.02.1995
One-, two-storey building with a simple decor of brickwork was built after G. Moore design at the expense of the military department in 1884. On 30 June 1890 A.P. Chekhov stayed in its library. In 1896 the building was extended with one-storey expansion. In 1914-1916 under the project of A. Nikolaev-Truhanin it was renovated by Austro-Hungarian war prisoners: completed up to three floors, a great extension of the three buildings was made to the north-west end. Plastered facades, richly decorated with classical styling, had the original coloration of alternating ocher and terracotta bars with decorative elements displayed in white, including ornamental relief inserts. During the Civil War there were an unemployment exchange, the 2nd Priamursky army headquarters, since 1924 it housed the Palace of Labor. In March 1926, the First Far Eastern Regional Congress of Soviets took place here. In 1928 1938 and 1947 the building was reconstructed. In 1947, in the right side there was a Musical Comedy Theater, and since 1977 - a concert hall. In 1992, after the renovation and refurbishment, the south-eastern part of the building was occupied by the Art Museum. The north-western part of the building was fully restored and reconstructed in 2002.