Residential house of V.F. Plyusnin
The building now accommodates: Khabarovsk Research Institute of Epidemiology and Microbiology
Address: Khabarovsk Territory, Khabarovsk, 2 Shevchenko Street
Date of construction: about 1907
Khabarovsk Territory Executive Committee decision №171 dd. 18.07.1991
The piece of land near the mouth of the river Plyusninka was purchased by V.F. Plyusnin in 1884. Around 1907 a stone house with high basement was erected on it. In 1909 his son Peter (1868-1937) inherited the building; he and his family of 10 people occupied the whole 1st floor. P.V. Plyusnin was a merchant of the first guild, a major landlord, a public figure, a member of the City Council, Director of the Public Bank, and, in Soviet times, an employee of a number of government agencies. In 1928 he was evicted from his home. In 1932 he was sent to Novosibirsk where in 1937 he was subjected to repression and died. Before the revolution, the second floor was rented for office of the Head of Amur bridge construction and engineering department of the Amur railway. From 1918 there was a Commissariat of Labor; in 1923-1927 there was a customs department and then Dalkraysoyuz, and from 1930 there was a Sanitary Biological Institute.
The original architecture of the building reveals in the form of Eclecticism with elements inherent to Classicism in the decoration of the front brick facade, in authentic interiors having preserved the unique etched glass in door transoms decorated by the emblem of the Plyusnin family.